Quantum Computing: The Next Compute Cycle — Economics, Winners & Investment Map
The wire itself breaks exactly where the evidence does.
Hover a node for its evidence tag. Click to jump to its full case in §02.
Framework at a Glance
One governing rule runs beneath all three frameworks, stated once here and applied to every workload claim in §06: a quantum-advantage claim is only as good as the classical baseline it is checked against, and DARPA itself has noted that rigorous classical-baseline comparison is still missing for many proposed quantum applications. Every use-case claim in this report is held to that standard explicitly, not assumed.
Where Quantum Computing Stands in 2026
Quantum's Capital-Markets Coming-Out, May–August 2026
Hover or click a node for the primary-source detail. Six events, four capital instruments, one still just a letter of intent.
| Date | Event | Scale | Status |
|---|---|---|---|
| May 21, 2026 | Commerce Dept./NIST CHIPS Act Equity LOIs | $2.013B across 9 companies | Letters of intent — not closed |
| Jun 4, 2026 | Quantinuum's Nasdaq IPO | $1.68B raised · ~$15.7B market cap | Closed |
| Jul 2, 2026 | IQM completes SPAC merger | ~$233.5M net proceeds | Closed |
| Jul 31, 2026 | IonQ closes SkyWater acquisition | $1.8B | Closed (M&A) |
| Aug 4, 2026 | IQM's first public-company earnings | >€102M order backlog | Disclosure event |
| Aug 11–12, 2026 | Quantum's Q2 earnings week + Oracle/Quantinuum OCI deal | n/a | Announced/Planned (Oracle deal) |
The cluster above is loud, but it is not the anchor citation this page is built on. That comes from DARPA's Quantum Benchmarking Initiative (QBI), which is independently evaluating roughly 18 architectures against a 2033 deadline for one precise target: utility-scale quantum computing — a machine whose computational value exceeds its cost. That definition, not a qubit count, is the thesis of this entire page, and it is the same instinct that made Compute as an Asset Class work for classical GPU financing: the investable question is never the size of the machine, it is what the machine is worth once it is running.
DARPA is explicit that QBI is not a winnowing competition — multiple, one, or zero architectures may eventually qualify, and each is evaluated on its own merits rather than against each other. Eleven of the 18 original Stage A entrants advanced to Stage B on November 6, 2025 — Atom Computing, Diraq, IBM, IonQ, Nord Quantique, Photonic Inc., Quantinuum, Quantum Motion, QuEra Computing, Silicon Quantum Computing and Xanadu. Google, Rigetti and HP Enterprise did not advance in that cohort, though DARPA does not treat that as disqualifying, and Google's Stage A window was only around two months long by construction — which complicates reading much into its absence. Full stage map, including the related US2QC track and the new HARQ heterogeneous-architecture program, is in §04. Status: Demonstrated (selection itself) · Evidence: Government (IV&V).
Read the rest of this page through that lens. A Nasdaq ticker, a SPAC close, or a CHIPS Act letter of intent is a capital-formation event — informative about who can fund the race and on what terms (§10–§11), but it is not itself evidence that the underlying machine has crossed DARPA's utility-scale bar. That evidence, such as it exists in 2026, is built one link at a time in the next two sections.
The Quantum Utility Bridge
A qubit count answers a marketing question. It does not answer an investment question, because a physical qubit is not a unit of computation — it is a unit of noisy computation that has to survive fidelity loss, error-correction overhead, and decoherence before it produces a logical result anyone can trust. The Quantum Utility Bridge lays out that survival chain explicitly, end to end, so a claim like "Company X has 1,000 qubits" can be located on the chain rather than mistaken for a finish line.
Real circuit notation, repurposed: a single wire carries the noisy physical signal, a double wire is the convention for an encoded/classical-grade result once QEC has run, and a dashed wire is what's left once the circuit is measured — a classical number. Click any gate to jump to its link below.
Quantum computing did not have a qubit-count problem in 2026. It had a link-six problem — nobody discloses executable circuit depth the way everybody discloses qubit count, and link six is the one that actually decides what a machine can do.
The next section takes link three — QEC overhead — and builds it out as its own exhibit, because it is the link most often collapsed into a single misleading ratio.
From Physical Qubits to Reliable Computation — the QEC Efficiency Map
The single most quoted — and most frequently mis-cited — number in quantum computing coverage is a physical-to-logical qubit ratio. The problem is not that these ratios are wrong; each is accurate on its own terms. The problem is that different experiments measure different things at different error targets on different hardware, and a reader who compresses them into one ranked list has manufactured a comparison the underlying data does not support. This exhibit exists to be read one row at a time.
Google's own reported error-suppression factor: every +2 added to the surface code's distance d cuts the logical error rate εL by this factor. The curve below is that law, anchored to the one distance the paper actually measured at scale — everything else on it is what the law predicts, not a second data point.
| Experiment | Hardware | Code family | Logical capacity | Error metric | Evidence |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Google Willow surface-code memory (2024) | Superconducting, 105-qubit chip | Surface code, distance-7 (101 of 105 qubits) | 1 logical qubit | 0.143% per-cycle logical error; beyond breakeven (2.4× best physical qubit) | Demonstrated · Peer-Reviewed |
| Google Willow + RL calibration (2026) | Same superconducting hardware | Surface code, distance-7 | 1 logical qubit | 7.72×10⁻⁴ per-cycle logical error — new record, ~46% lower than 2024 | Demonstrated · Peer-Reviewed |
| Quantinuum Helios Iceberg encoding (2026) | Trapped-ion, 98-qubit Helios | [[k+2,k,2]] Iceberg + two-level concatenated Iceberg | 48 error-corrected (~2:1) or 94 error-detected (~1:1) logical qubits — two configurations on one chip, not one number | Beyond break-even, 10–100× lower error than physical qubits across benchmarks | Demonstrated · Company Disclosure / Preprint |
| Quantinuum H1-1 magic-state prep (2025) A separate, smaller, older system — not the same experiment as the row above |
Trapped-ion, 20-qubit H1-1 | [[6,2,2]] error-detecting code | 2 logical magic states — a different logical resource than a general logical qubit | Infidelity 7×10⁻⁵; 14.8% discard rate | Demonstrated · Peer-Reviewed/Preprint |
The Willow extrapolation is a projection, not an achieved result — treat it as one. The 2024 Nature paper's own Figure 1d extrapolates that reaching a 10⁻⁶ logical error rate would require a distance-27 surface code using 1,457 physical qubits — a number the paper itself frames as a scaling projection from its measured Λ = 2.14 error-suppression factor, not a system anyone has built. Status: Projected · Evidence: Peer-Reviewed (as an explicit extrapolation, not a claimed result). The paper also notes the reverse holds: halving the physical error rate would improve distance-27 logical performance by four orders of magnitude — meaning near-term hardware gains carry outsized leverage through error correction, which is a genuine reason for optimism about the trajectory even though the 1,457-qubit machine does not exist.
On the two fidelity claims that most often get compared incorrectly. Quantinuum's 99.921% two-qubit gate fidelity is a system-wide, all-pairs average measured on Helios, an actual commercially available 98-qubit machine — Available + Company Disclosure. IonQ's 99.99% figure comes from its Electronic Qubit Control technology demonstrated on small-scale R&D prototype hardware intended to underpin a future 2026-generation system, not a measurement available to a customer today — Announced/Projected (for commercial deployment) + Company Disclosure. Both figures are real and both are honestly reported by their companies. Neither should be read as "the higher number wins": one describes a production system at scale, the other a lab demonstration on a small setup, and the appropriate like-for-like comparator to Helios is IonQ's own production Forte system, which the company has separately reported at roughly 99.65% two-qubit fidelity.
The Architecture Race and DARPA's Independent Validation Map
Seven distinct qubit modalities are being pursued commercially in 2026 — superconducting (IBM, Rigetti, Google, IQM), trapped-ion (Quantinuum, IonQ), neutral-atom (QuEra, Atom Computing, Infleqtion), photonic (PsiQuantum, Xanadu, Photonic Inc.), silicon-spin (Diraq), topological (Microsoft) and annealing (D-Wave, a fundamentally different computational model aimed at optimization rather than general-purpose gate-based computing). DARPA's Quantum Benchmarking Initiative is the closest thing to an independent, cross-modality referee any of them have — which is precisely why its own language about what QBI is and is not matters more than any single company's roadmap slide.
The same convention clinical-trial papers use for participant flow, applied to a technology-evaluation program: a clean split of the original 18-entrant pool, plus two boxes drawn deliberately unconnected to that pool — the US2QC track and the June 2026 cohort are separate programs, not exclusions from this one, and drawing them as branches of the same flow would misstate that.
The Algorithm Gap — What Can Quantum Actually Do?
Hardware progress and commercial readiness are not the same claim, and 2026's two best market studies triangulate on exactly that gap using completely different methods. BCG's enterprise-spend modeling (§08) finds value concentrated in a narrow set of high-impact use cases accessible to roughly 100–200 logical qubits — chemistry and materials simulation specifically, not a general threshold. Separately, IQM's State of Quantum 2026 report — independently researched and authored by The Quantum Insider, based on a validated survey of 107 senior practitioners across AMER, EMEA and APAC plus 19 leadership interviews at organizations including Airbus, BMW, Moderna and Argonne National Laboratory — finds that 89% of surveyed enterprises report hands-on quantum work, but only 10% report limited production use and just 3% have reached scaled production deployment. A new composite Quantum Readiness Index scores the global market 58 out of 100 — the "Developing" tier on a five-tier scale from Aware to Leading. Status: Demonstrated (survey results) · Evidence: Independent Research.
Two completely different methods — top-down enterprise-spend modeling versus bottom-up practitioner survey — landing on the same conclusion is a stronger signal than either alone. Neither is promotional: BCG is modeling a market it wants clients to invest in, and IQM is a commercial quantum vendor sponsoring survey research conducted independently by The Quantum Insider — a relationship worth naming directly, since IQM is also a subject of the capital-markets exhibits in §10–§11. The independence of the research process, not the absence of a commercial sponsor, is what makes the finding usable.
Read the way a reliability engineer reads attrition: each step is the same cohort measured at a later stage, not four separate samples — of the 89% doing hands-on work, only 10% reach even limited production, and just 3% reach scaled deployment. The steepest drop, not any single figure, is the algorithm gap. Click a step for its source note.
The report's sharper finding sits inside the aggregate number: hiring, budget and pilot activity are all running ahead of proprietary output and scaled deployment. Only 9% of organizations maintain a resourced quantum intellectual-property program — meaning most of the 89% doing "hands-on" work have not yet produced anything defensible from it. That is the algorithm gap in one statistic: enterprises can access quantum hardware today; very few have found an algorithm on it that clears the classical-baseline bar stated in Framework at a Glance.
Which Quantum Workloads Could Become Economic First?
BCG's frequently-cited "100–200 logical qubits" figure is not a general-purpose threshold for quantum advantage — it is a resource estimate specific to chemistry and materials simulation, the single use case BCG's base-case $2.5B-by-2030 market scenario is built around (§08). Applying it to optimization, finance or cryptography would misstate what BCG's own modeling supports. The table below separates workloads by the resource, algorithm and classical comparator each actually requires.
TRL 1–3 is Research, 4–6 is Development, 7–9 is Deployment — a standard the reader can check this page's judgment against, not a house invention. No vendor publishes a formal TRL self-assessment for these workloads, so every placement here is an A.L. Capital estimate, and each is a range, not a point. Optimization's TRL 7–8 reflects that quantum annealing is commercially deployed and revenue-generating today (D-Wave) — it says nothing about whether its classical-advantage claims at scale are settled; those remain contested, as the card below explains. Cryptanalysis is deliberately excluded from this axis: it is a security threat timeline, not a workload being commercialized for its own operator. Click a bar for its full case below.
| Use case | Algorithm class | Classical benchmark | Required logical resources | Maturity |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Chemistry & materials simulation | Variational/quantum simulation algorithms | Classical DFT and tensor-network methods — the benchmark BCG explicitly models against | ~100–200 logical qubits (BCG estimate, this use case only) | Announced/Projected · leading candidate, enterprise pilots active (Boehringer Ingelheim, Moderna cited in industry surveys) |
| Combinatorial optimization | Quantum annealing (a distinct computational model from gate-based QEC) | Classical heuristics and specialized solvers — routinely competitive at current problem scales | Not logical-qubit-comparable — D-Wave's annealing architecture does not use the same QEC accounting as gate-based systems | Available · commercial revenue exists today (D-Wave), but classical-advantage claims at scale remain contested |
| Financial Monte Carlo / risk modeling | Quantum amplitude estimation | Classical Monte Carlo with variance-reduction techniques | Resource estimates vary widely by problem size; no consensus logical-qubit figure as disclosed in 2026 | Projected · enterprise pilots exist (JPMorgan Chase cited in McKinsey's 2026 survey) without disclosed production deployment |
| Cryptanalysis (Shor's algorithm class) | Factoring / discrete log | Not an economic workload for the machine's owner — a security threat model for RSA/ECC-dependent systems, not a revenue use case | Estimates run into the hundreds of thousands to millions of physical qubits at current error rates — far beyond any 2026 system | Projected · relevant to post-quantum cryptography timelines, not to this page's commercialization analysis |
The Commercialization Curve — Enterprise Spend, QaaS, and Hybrid Quantum
Quantinuum's multi-year partnership with Oracle, announced alongside its Q2 2026 earnings, is the clearest 2026 exhibit of how enterprises are actually meant to reach quantum hardware: not by buying a machine, but by renting access to one embedded inside infrastructure they already use. The deal places a Helios system directly inside an Oracle OCI AI data center — the first Helios sited on U.S. soil outside Quantinuum's own facilities, integrated with OCI compute, storage, networking and security for hybrid quantum-classical workflows. This is Announced/Planned, not an operating installation: Oracle is purchasing the system under a multi-year agreement, cloud-activation revenue is modest in 2026, and the bulk of revenue recognition is expected on system delivery in early 2027. Status: Announced/Planned · Evidence: Company Disclosure (joint press release).
This is one of at least two competing commercialization archetypes visible in 2026. Quantinuum and IonQ both push toward cloud-delivered QaaS — Quantinuum's Nexus platform now serves 180 organizations, per its Q2 2026 disclosure — while IQM pursues an on-premises deployment model that gives customers direct ownership and control of their quantum infrastructure, evidenced by 26 systems sold and 17 delivered globally, including a first major U.S. government delivery to Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Neither model has established itself as dominant; enterprises appear to be buying both access modes simultaneously depending on workload sensitivity and integration requirements.
McKinsey's enterprise-spend data gives the clearest picture of how seriously buyers are treating this, independent of which access model they choose: 33% of surveyed companies allocate more than $10 million annually to quantum computing initiatives, 7% spend more than $50 million, and the largest individual disclosed budget reaches $200 million. Status: Demonstrated (survey data) · Evidence: Independent Research. Set against the algorithm gap in §05 — where only 3% of hands-on enterprises report scaled production deployment — this spend looks less like proof of near-term ROI and more like real-option positioning: enterprises paying to keep a seat at the table for whichever architecture and algorithm combination crosses the utility-scale bar first.
Quantum Market Size — Reconciling the Conflicting Numbers
Search "quantum computing market size" and the numbers on the first page span three orders of magnitude, because they are not measuring the same thing. This exhibit keeps three independently sourced 2026 reports separate on purpose — reconciling what each one actually measures is more useful than picking the biggest number.
Read as breadth of lens, not a mathematical superset: each ring is not claimed to numerically contain the dollars inside the previous one — Enterprise Spend is a genuinely different pool of money from Provider Revenue, not the same dollars re-measured. What increases outward is scope — how much of the surrounding economy each figure is trying to capture.
| Source | Report | What it measures | 2025/2026 figure | Forward figure |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| McKinsey | Quantum Technology Monitor 2026 (Apr 2026) | Provider revenue + economic value modeling | >$1B revenue (2025, first time crossed) | $1.3–2.7T economic value by 2035 |
| BCG | "Quantum Is Getting Real" (Jun 2026) | Forward market-size scenario modeling, tied to enterprise adoption and hardware progress | n/a — forward-only model | $2.5B base case / $2.5–5B upside by 2030 |
| QED-C | State of the Global Quantum Industry 2026 (Apr 2026) | Quantum-computing-specific provider revenue, tracked bottom-up across 556 pure-play companies | $1.4B quantum computing (2025) — $1.9B total quantum tech incl. sensing | $3B quantum computing by 2028 (30% CAGR) |
The Quantum Value Stack and the Value Migration Curve
Four layers make up the quantum value stack: hardware and components (qubits, cryogenics, control electronics, specialized fabrication), QEC, control and systems integration (the error-correction codes and classical control stacks built in §02–§03), algorithms, software and QaaS (the layer §05–§07 describe as still gapped), and applications (the commercial end-use layer §06 tries to identify first movers in). Today's scarcity rents sit almost entirely in the first layer — hardware and components — reflected in every capital-raising route documented in §10: IPO proceeds, SPAC proceeds, CHIPS Act equity, and M&A are all currently flowing toward companies building physical machines, not companies selling algorithms or applications.
The visual language of a physics energy-level diagram, borrowed on purpose: filled markers on the bottom level are the capital-formation evidence already documented in §10 — a populated, observed state. The three levels above are hollow — nothing has migrated there yet — and the dashed arrows are this page's hypothesis about direction, not a measured transition. Hover a level for its validation indicators.
| Layer | Where rents sit | Validation indicators to track (by layer) |
|---|---|---|
| Hardware & components | Today | Capital raised, revenue, gross margins, patent activity, customer spending, M&A activity, supply bottlenecks |
| QEC, control & systems integration | Next | Same seven indicators, tracked as this layer's share of the totals above grows |
| Algorithms, software & QaaS | Later | Same seven indicators; §05's 9%-with-an-IP-program figure is this layer's current baseline reading |
| Applications | Mature | Same seven indicators; §06's workload table is this layer's current candidate list |
How Quantum Is Being Capitalized
Five distinct routes to capital are all live simultaneously in quantum computing in 2026: a traditional IPO, a SPAC merger, ongoing public-market access for already-listed pure-plays, a novel government minority-equity instrument, and strategic M&A. This exhibit keeps its columns to what is actually observable in each disclosure — capital source, instrument, capital raised, implied valuation, dilution, strategic terms, use of proceeds and balance-sheet runway. It deliberately does not attempt a "cost of capital per business model" figure: venture funding, government equity, SPAC proceeds and traditional IPO proceeds are not reducible to one comparable WACC-style number, and inventing pseudo-precision there would undercut the exhibit rather than strengthen it.
Four distinct instruments — a government minority-equity LOI, a traditional IPO, a SPAC merger and a strategic acquisition — closing within roughly ten weeks of each other. The dashed marker is a letter of intent, not yet closed; the three solid markers are closed transactions. Existing listed pure-plays (IonQ, Rigetti, D-Wave) are excluded from this timeline since they aren't a single dated event. Hover a marker for its full case.
| Route | Instrument | Capital raised | Implied valuation | Dilution / strategic terms | Use of proceeds | Runway |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quantinuum | Traditional IPO (Jun 4, 2026) | $1.68B raised | ~$15.7B market cap at close | Honeywell retains controlling interest post-listing and remains both a customer and strategic partner | General corporate purposes, commercialization and product roadmap (Sol, Helios successors) — not itemized to a dollar breakdown in disclosures reviewed | $2.1B cash & short-term investments at Q2 2026 close |
| IQM | SPAC merger with Real Asset Acquisition Corp. (closed Jul 2, 2026) | ~$233.5M net proceeds (incl. $145.5M PIPE) | ~$1.9B deal valuation† | 14.55M PIPE shares at $10.00/ADS; 14.38M shares issued as merger consideration; warrants at $11.50 exercise | Commercialization and global expansion of on-premises quantum systems | €309.4M cash at listing — company guidance: "well into Q2 2028" |
| Existing listed pure-plays IonQ, Rigetti, D-Wave |
Ongoing public-market equity access (already-listed) | Not a single raise — cash positions as of Q2 2026: IonQ $3.0B; Rigetti $541.3M; D-Wave not independently verified in this pass | Public market cap (not restated here — see §11 caveat on EV analysis) | No debt disclosed at Rigetti; IonQ's SkyWater M&A (below) is a use of this cash, not a new raise | Varies by company — see §11 | See §11 cash-and-burn table |
| Companies subject to proposed CHIPS-linked government equity participation | Minority, non-controlling equity stakes (Letters of Intent, May 21, 2026 — not yet closed) | $2.013B across nine companies | GlobalFoundries: ~1% equity for $375M implies a ~$37.5B reference valuation — the only recipient with a disclosed equity percentage; other eight recipients' equity percentages are not disclosed | IBM's $1.0B tied to a new "Anderon" 300mm quantum foundry subsidiary; D-Wave, Rigetti, Infleqtion, PsiQuantum, Quantinuum, Atom Computing each $100M; Diraq $38M; deals not yet finalized | R&D and domestic manufacturing capacity (foundry buildout for IBM and GlobalFoundries specifically) | N/A — capital not yet closed |
| IonQ / SkyWater | Strategic acquisition (closed Jul 31, 2026) | $1.8B capital deployed, not raised | n/a — a use of capital, not a capital-raising route | Cash/stock funding mix not detailed in disclosures reviewed for this pass | Vertical integration into onshore semiconductor manufacturing for IonQ's chip roadmap | IonQ cash fell from $3.0B (Q2 close) to a pro forma ~$2.0B post-close — A.L. Capital Estimate, not itself a disclosed company figure |
Commercial Reality — Revenue Quality, Cash Burn, and Capital Runway
A bare revenue comparison across these companies invites a false conclusion. IonQ's $80.1M Q2 2026 revenue looks like ten times Quantinuum's $8.0M — but IonQ's own disclosures show that figure blends compute, networking, sensing and acquired-business revenue (the company discloses roughly 60% commercial, 50% international and 25% multi-product for the quarter, without breaking out how much is core quantum-compute revenue specifically), while Quantinuum's and D-Wave's revenue sit closer to pure compute/QaaS. Two methodology rules make this exhibit audit-proof rather than another vendor-friendly ranking: (1) every classification below is tagged Reported / Explicitly Disclosed / Estimated / Not Disclosed, and a company's own stated breakdown is never silently blended with an outside estimate; (2) no government-versus-commercial split is inferred just because a customer's identity is known — where a company has not disclosed the split, the cell says "Not Disclosed," not a guess.
Same axis discipline as the Utility Bridge exhibits: x is log-scale because revenue spans two orders of magnitude, and y is not a value at all — it's which tier of disclosure clarity each company's own reporting supports. Position on the right means bigger; position at the bottom means less decomposable, not worse. Click a point for its full row below.
| Company | Q2 2026 revenue | Revenue quality | Revenue origin | Tag |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Quantinuum | $8.0M (+279% YoY) | Core quantum compute/QaaS — hardware access plus the Nexus cloud platform (180 organizations) | Organic | Reported |
| IonQ | $80.1M (+287% YoY) | Blended — compute, networking, sensing and acquired-business revenue; company does not disclose the compute-only share | Mixed — organic plus acquired (Oxford Ionics 2025; SkyWater closed post-quarter, Jul 31) | Explicitly Disclosed (60% commercial / 50% international / 25% multi-product) — compute-specific share Not Disclosed |
| D-Wave | $3.1M (flat QoQ; H1 down 67% YoY) | Quantum annealing compute/QaaS and professional services | Organic | Explicitly Disclosed (62% commercial customer share) |
| Rigetti | $5.14M (+185% YoY) | Hardware-system sales — on-premises system shipments and Novera QPU sales named as the drivers | Organic | Explicitly Disclosed (revenue driver named; not itemized to a dollar split) |
| IQM | €6.7M Q2 / €8.9M H1 | Hardware-system sales — on-premises quantum computers, delivery-based revenue recognition (26 sold, 17 delivered) | Organic | Reported |
On enterprise value versus market cap. Every one of these companies now carries a large net-cash position relative to revenue, which makes market cap ÷ revenue a weak standalone metric — but building an Enterprise Value comparison responsibly requires verified share-count and market-cap data this page has not independently confirmed for all five names in this pass. Rather than publish an approximate EV figure, the table below sticks to disclosed cash, spend and burn figures, and flags where a runway estimate is A.L. Capital's own arithmetic rather than company guidance.
Three lines are simple cash ÷ burn extrapolations (A.L. Capital Estimate) — a straight-line slope, not a forecast of actual spending. IQM's line is drawn differently on purpose: its endpoint marks the company's own disclosed guidance ("well into Q2 2028"), a floor, not a computed zero — mixing it with the other three's solid lines would misrepresent a disclosed figure as our arithmetic. D-Wave is excluded from this chart: its cash and burn figures were not independently verified in this research pass, and plotting an unverified line would be worse than omitting it. Hover a line for its full case.
| Company | Cash & investments | Quarterly burn (non-GAAP) | Runway |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quantinuum | $2.1B | $68.3M Adj. EBITDA loss | ~30 quarters at current burn — A.L. Capital Estimate, simple cash ÷ burn, ignores revenue growth and capex |
| IonQ | $3.0B ($2.0B pro forma post-SkyWater — estimate) | $120.3M Adj. EBITDA loss | ~25 quarters pre-SkyWater / ~17 quarters pro forma — A.L. Capital Estimate |
| Rigetti | $541.3M, no debt | ~$16M non-GAAP net loss | ~34 quarters — A.L. Capital Estimate |
| D-Wave | Not independently verified in this pass | Not independently verified in this pass | Not independently verified in this pass |
| IQM | €309.4M | €30.9M operating loss (Q2) | Company guidance: "well into Q2 2028" — used in preference to a simple cash ÷ burn estimate |
Where the Winners Could Emerge
The obvious next question after "which architecture wins?" is "which stock is that?" — and this page deliberately does not answer it with a rating. Each pure-play quantum equity — IONQ ↗, QNT ↗, RGTI ↗, QBTS ↗ and IQMX ↗ — already carries its own full equity view and conviction rating elsewhere on this site; this page cross-links to each rather than re-rating it. What follows instead are two taxonomies. The first — exposure archetypes — describes what business a company is actually in. The second — a financing overlay — describes how it is capitalized. They are kept apart because "government-supported" is a funding characteristic, not an economic exposure, and conflating the two muddies both: two companies in the same exposure archetype can sit on opposite ends of the financing overlay, and treating "government-backed" as if it described a business model would be exactly that conflation.
Edge thickness is deliberately uniform — it is not weighted by company count, the same discipline applied against a Sankey diagram earlier on this page (§08) — so a ×5 link never reads as visually "bigger" than a ×1 link. The two dashed, unconnected nodes are the finding: Software/QaaS and Applications & Security have no identified public company in any financing category yet. Hover a node or link for the named companies.
What Would Prove This Thesis Wrong?
A falsification section that lists company-specific disclosure changes as evidence against the thesis is not actually testing the thesis — it is testing whether individual managements stay consistent, which is a different and much weaker claim. The seven falsifiers below attack the Quantum Utility Bridge chain built in §02 directly, link by link. If several of these start showing up simultaneously across independent architectures, that is a reason to revisit this page's thesis; a single company's earnings miss or a single quarter's stock move is not.
Standard fault-tree notation, repurposed: each box at the bottom is an independent leaf event tied to one Utility Bridge link; the OR gate means any single one occurring is a legitimate data point. But — and this is stated in the diagram on purpose, not just the prose — reaching the top event requires several branches firing together, across independent architectures, not one company's one bad quarter. Click a leaf for its full case below.
Investment Implications
This page issues no individual equity ratings of its own — Quantinuum, IonQ, Rigetti, D-Wave and IQM (plus IBM) each already carry a full equity view and conviction rating elsewhere on this site, cross-linked throughout §12 rather than restated here. What follows is every publicly investable route into this page's subject that this research pass could verify — equities and the ETFs that wrap them — read against the archetype (§12, Exhibit 12) and financing-overlay (§12, Exhibit 13) taxonomies above, not a recommendation to hold any of them.
| Vehicle | Ticker | What it actually is |
|---|---|---|
| Direct pure-play equities | QNT, IONQ, RGTI, QBTS, IQMX | The five names covered by archetype and financing overlay in §12 — the only route this page has analyzed directly against primary financial statements (§10–§11) |
| Diversified incumbent equities | IBM, GOOGL, MSFT | Archetype 02 (§12) — quantum is one division inside a much larger business; quantum-specific results don't yet move these companies' consolidated economics |
| Defiance Quantum ETF | QTUM | Largest/oldest (2018), ~$5.5–6B AUM — but a March 2026 strategy overhaul repositioned it toward quantum-adjacent infrastructure and defense names (Lockheed Martin, Northrop Grumman, RTX); individual pure-play quantum names now each sit under ~1% of the ~84-holding portfolio |
| Defiance Pure Quantum ETF | QTUP | Launched Jun 2026 by the same issuer as the concentrated satellite QTUM stopped being — actively managed, ~10 holdings: IonQ ~18.6%, Quantinuum ~15.5%, D-Wave ~15.2%. Genuinely new — about three months of trading history as of this pass |
| WisdomTree Quantum Computing Fund | WQTM | Launched Oct 2025, index-tracked (WisdomTree Classiq Quantum Computing Index), 45–53 holdings; pure-play names still ~4–6% each — a middle ground between QTUM's breadth and QTUP's concentration |
| VanEck Quantum Computing UCITS ETF | QNTM (LSE) | Ireland-domiciled, UCITS-wrapped, ~$760–790M AUM — the structurally relevant option for the EU-resident and other non-US-resident portfolios this practice serves, not a US-domiciled equivalent |
Position sizing and time horizon should follow from the classical-baseline discipline stated in Framework at a Glance and tested against the seven falsifiers in §13 — not from which company issued the loudest press release in a given quarter, or which vehicle in the table above is most convenient to buy. A reader applying this page to a specific ticker or fund should locate it on both §12 taxonomies independently, then bring their own valuation work; this page deliberately stops short of doing that work for them.
What sizing that exposure correctly actually requires, without naming a ticker, is three checks. Correlation, not diversification: a portfolio that already holds AI-infrastructure exposure (per Compute as an Asset Class) is not adding an offsetting risk factor by adding quantum-computing exposure on top of it — both cycles draw on the same pool of capital-markets enthusiasm for compute-adjacent technology, so a drawdown in one is a plausible catalyst for a drawdown in the other, not a hedge against it. Duration and liquidity: every publicly listed name in §12 is pre-profit or early-profit on an adjusted basis (§11), priced on multi-year roadmap execution rather than current earnings, and several carry the government-policy dependence documented in §10 on a timeline this page's author does not control. Concentration at the thesis level, not the position level: a bet on an entire nine-link chain clearing an economic bar is a different risk than a single company's earnings call, and sizing it like an ordinary equity position understates how much of the outcome still depends on links this page tags Projected rather than Demonstrated (§02). None of this argues against holding the exposure — it is the argument for why sizing it is a portfolio-construction question rather than a stock-picking one.
The six vehicle positions are this page's qualitative read of the table above — not a computed score, and not the same axis as the UCITS-domicile distinction (see QNTM's row). The seventh marker doesn't have a fixed position because nobody's risk aversion coefficient is the same — including yours.
Most investors answer that with "moderate" or "aggressive." Risk DNA solves for your exact coefficient instead — the same math behind the spectrum above — so the answer is a number, not a guess.
A higher coefficient points toward the diversified-incumbent or UCITS-ETF end of the spectrum above; a lower one tolerates the concentrated pure-play end. Translating that coefficient into an actual position size, alongside the rest of a portfolio, is what a Strategic Session does next.
How This Fits A.L. Capital's Research
This page sits alongside three other Intelligence pages that touch adjacent, but distinct, compute and capital-formation questions. We map them explicitly so a reader knows which question each page answers, rather than mistaking overlapping subject matter for disagreement.
| Page | Question it answers | Companies covered | Rating system |
|---|---|---|---|
| Compute as an Asset Class | Can classical, GPU-based AI compute carry long-duration institutional debt, and how does that financing architecture work? | NVDA, APO/BX/KKR/BLK/GS/BAM (role only); ORCL, GOOGL (case-study structural assessment) | Qualitative case-study comparison — no ratings |
| AI Infrastructure | What is being physically built for classical AI compute, and who supplies it? | NVDA, VRT, EQIX, CEG, MU (high-conviction); MSFT, GOOGL, ORCL, META, AMZN (capex table) | Conviction Model Bridge |
| Private Equity | Which alt-manager equities compound regardless of the credit cycle? | BX, KKR, APO, ARES, CG | AMQ Score |
| Quantum Computing (this page) | Can quantum computing hardware convert physical qubits into logical computation whose economic value exceeds its cost — and who is positioned across the resulting value chain? | Quantinuum, IonQ, Rigetti, D-Wave, IQM, IBM (role only, exposure archetypes and financing overlay — §12; full ratings on each equity's own page) | Two-taxonomy framework comparison — no ratings, no composite score |
Frequently Asked Questions
Methodology / Data Appendix
28 figuresEvery major technical or commercial claim on this page carries two independent tags, applied while each section was drafted rather than as a retrofit. Status describes what stage the claim is at: Demonstrated (shown to work, at least once, under stated conditions), Available (a customer can access it today), Announced (publicly stated but not yet operating), or Projected (a forward estimate or extrapolation). Evidence describes how strong the backing is, independent of status: Peer-Reviewed, Government (IV&V), Regulatory Filing, Company Disclosure, Independent Research, or A.L. Capital Estimate. The two axes are independent — Quantinuum's Helios is Available + Company Disclosure for its headline fidelity number, while the underlying error-correction method behind it is Demonstrated + Peer-Reviewed/Preprint; a 2029 roadmap milestone would be Projected, and whether its evidence tag is Regulatory Filing or A.L. Capital Estimate is the difference between a claim appearing in an SEC filing and one this page inferred.
| Figure | Value | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Quantinuum Nasdaq IPO — capital raised / price / market cap | $1.68B / $60 / ~$15.7B | Jun 4, 2026 | Quantinuum press release / Nasdaq (primary) |
| Quantinuum Q2 2026 revenue / guidance / RPO / cash | $8.0M (+279% YoY) / $28–32M FY / ~$74M / $2.1B | Q2 2026 (Aug 11, 2026) | Quantinuum 8-K / earnings release (primary) |
| CHIPS Act quantum equity LOIs — total / recipients | $2.013B / 9 companies | May 21, 2026 | Commerce Dept. / NIST (primary) |
| IQM/RAAQ SPAC close — net proceeds | ~$233.5M (incl. $145.5M PIPE) | Jul 2, 2026 | IQM/RAAQ closing press release (primary) |
| IQM first public earnings — order backlog / cash | >€102.1M / €309.4M | Aug 4, 2026 | IQM Q2 2026 earnings release (primary) |
| IonQ SkyWater acquisition | $1.8B, closed | Jul 31, 2026 | IonQ press release (primary) |
| IonQ Q2 2026 revenue / guidance / RPO / cash | $80.1M (+287% YoY) / $280–290M FY / $485M / $3.0B | Q2 2026 (Aug 5, 2026) | IonQ earnings release (primary) |
| Rigetti Q2 2026 revenue / cash | $5.14M (+185% YoY) / $541.3M, no debt | Q2 2026 | Rigetti earnings release (primary) |
| D-Wave Q2 2026 revenue | $3.1M (flat QoQ) | Q2 2026 | D-Wave earnings release (primary) |
| DARPA QBI Stage B roster | 11 of 18 Stage A entrants | Nov 6, 2025 | DARPA (primary) |
| DARPA HARQ program | 19 teams, 15 orgs, 24 months | Apr 14, 2026 | DARPA / IonQ press release (primary) |
| Google Willow — original below-threshold result | 0.143% per-cycle logical error, distance-7 | Dec 9, 2024 | Nature 638 (Google Quantum AI) (primary, peer-reviewed) |
| Google Willow — RL-calibration follow-up | 7.72×10⁻⁴ per-cycle logical error, distance-7 | Jul 8, 2026 | Nature 655, 879–884 (Google Quantum AI/DeepMind) (primary, peer-reviewed) |
| Willow distance-27 extrapolation for 10⁻⁶ target | 1,457 physical qubits (projection, not built) | Dec 2024 paper | Nature 638 (primary) — the paper's own Fig. 1d extrapolation |
| Quantinuum Helios Iceberg-code result | 48 error-corrected (~2:1) / 94 error-detected (~1:1) logical qubits from 98 physical | Mar 2026 | Quantinuum arXiv preprint (primary, preprint) |
| Quantinuum H1-1 magic-state discard rate | 14.8% (+1/−1%) | Jun 2025 (arXiv:2506.14688) | Quantinuum arXiv preprint (primary, preprint) — separate experiment from the row above |
| Quantinuum Helios two-qubit fidelity (all-pairs) | 99.921% | 2026 | Quantinuum (company disclosure) |
| IonQ two-qubit fidelity (R&D prototype, EQC) | 99.99% | 2025–26 | IonQ (company disclosure) — prototype, not production-system |
| McKinsey — 2025 quantum revenue / 2025 investment / 2035 economic value | >$1B / $12.6B / $1.3–2.7T | Apr 28, 2026 | McKinsey Quantum Technology Monitor 2026 (primary research) |
| BCG — 2030 market size scenarios | $2.5B base / $2.5–5B upside | Jun 4, 2026 | BCG, "Quantum Is Getting Real" (primary research) |
| QED-C — 2025 quantum computing / total quantum tech revenue | $1.4B / $1.9B | Apr 14, 2026 | QED-C, State of the Global Quantum Industry 2026 (primary research) |
| IQM State of Quantum 2026 — hands-on / scaled deployment / readiness index | 89% / 3% / 58 of 100 | Jun 18, 2026 | IQM / The Quantum Insider (independent research, IQM-sponsored) |
| McKinsey — enterprise quantum spend tiers | 33% >$10M/yr; 7% >$50M/yr; top budget $200M | Apr 28, 2026 | McKinsey Quantum Technology Monitor 2026 (primary research) |
| Quantinuum/Oracle OCI partnership | Announced/Planned — revenue mostly recognized early 2027 | Aug 11–12, 2026 | Quantinuum / Oracle joint press release (primary) |
| Defiance Quantum ETF (QTUM) — AUM / expense ratio / pure-play weight | ~$5.5–6B / 0.40% / each pure-play name <1% of ~84 holdings | Aug 31, 2026 | Defiance ETFs (primary, issuer fund page) |
| Defiance Pure Quantum ETF (QTUP) — AUM / expense ratio / top 3 weights | $14.73M / 0.77% / IonQ 18.6% + Quantinuum 15.5% + D-Wave 15.2% | Sep 1, 2026 | Defiance ETFs (primary, issuer fund page) |
| WisdomTree Quantum Computing Fund (WQTM) — AUM / expense ratio / holdings | ~$336–347M / 0.45% / 45–53 holdings | Aug 27, 2026 | stockanalysis.com / Yahoo Finance (aggregator, not independently re-verified against wisdomtree.com in this pass) |
| VanEck Quantum Computing UCITS ETF (QNTM) — domicile / AUM / TER | Ireland (UCITS), ~$760–790M, 0.55% | Jul–Aug 2026 | ETF Stream / justETF (aggregator, not independently re-verified against vaneck.com in this pass) |
References
25 sources · primary first- 01DARPA — Quantum Benchmarking Initiative, Stage B Selection
- 02IonQ / BusinessWire — Selected for DARPA's Heterogeneous Architectures for Quantum (HARQ) Program
- 03Google Quantum AI et al. — "Quantum error correction below the surface code threshold," Nature 638
- 04Google Quantum AI / DeepMind — "Reinforcement learning control of quantum error correction," Nature 655
- 05Quantinuum / The Quantum Insider — Iceberg-code logical qubit demonstration on Helios
- 06Quantinuum — "Breaking even with magic: demonstration of a high-fidelity logical non-Clifford gate," arXiv:2506.14688
- 07Quantinuum — Announces Pricing of Upsized Initial Public Offering
- 08Quantinuum — Form 8-K, Q2 2026 Earnings Release
- 09CNBC — Quantum stocks soar as U.S. plans $2 billion funding incentives and equity stakes
- 10IQM / GlobeNewswire — IQM and Real Asset Acquisition Corp. Complete Business Combination
- 11IQM — Reports First Earnings as a Public Company
- 12IonQ Investor Relations — Record Second Quarter 2026 Revenues, +287% YoY
- 13Rigetti Computing — Reports Second Quarter 2026 Financial Results
- 14Data Center Dynamics — Quantum Earnings Q2 2026: D-Wave, IonQ and Rigetti Results
- 15The Quantum Insider — IonQ Raises 2026 Revenue Outlook, SkyWater Acquisition
- 16McKinsey — Quantum Technology Monitor 2026: A Commercial Tipping Point
- 17BCG — Quantum Is Getting Real. CEOs Need to Shape Where It Creates Value
- 18QED-C — State of the Global Quantum Industry 2026
- 19IQM / The Quantum Insider — State of Quantum 2026
- 20Google Search Central — A New Resource for Optimizing for Generative AI in Search
- 21Google Search Central — Introducing Search Generative AI Performance Reports in Search Console
- 22Defiance ETFs — Defiance Quantum ETF (QTUM) Fund Page
- 23Defiance ETFs — Defiance Pure Quantum ETF (QTUP) Fund Page
- 24stockanalysis.com — WQTM Holdings List, WisdomTree Quantum Computing Fund
- 25justETF — VanEck Quantum Computing UCITS ETF (QNTM), ISIN IE0007Y8Y157
Ladnyi, A. (2026). "Quantum Computing: The Next Compute Cycle — Economics, Winners & Investment Map." A.L. Capital Advisory. https://alcapitaladvisory.com/research/intelligence/quantum-computing.html
Translate research into portfolio decisions
The Strategic Session is where we take research like this and build concrete allocation decisions — sizing emerging-technology exposure against a broader portfolio, matching archetype and financing-overlay choices to your risk profile, and setting concentration limits for early-stage, thesis-driven positions.
Book a Strategic Session →